District Six Beneficiary Trust

On this page you can find out more about the District Six Beneficiary Trust

Why is there a Trust?

The Trust exists because the community needed a unified voice to articulate its cause. It was formed in 1998 after a lengthy process and formally registered in 2001. At the time it was thought that the best vehicle to develop the District was a Trust. Over the years the Trust has doggedly protected the rights of the beneficiaries.

The Constitution of the District Six Beneficiary Trust

The constitution is modelled on the old Cape Community Development Trust that was proposed by the City of Cape Town as the developer of District Six before its role was nullified by the creation of the District Six Beneficiary Trust.

The constitution was workshopped with the community over a period of six months and adopted in January 1998. It was amended at the Trust AGM in March 2008 after lying open for inspection and comment for a lengthy period. The AGM was convened under the auspices of the Regional Land Claims Commission.

To read the full constitution click on the link at the bottom of this page.

8 District Six Beneficiary Trust meeting in 1999

Who is on the Board of Trustees

The Board of trustees which has been elected by the Claimants is as follows:

  1. Anwah Nagia (Chair)
  2. Terence Fredericks (Vice Chair)
  3. Tape September (Secretary)
  4. Rushen Bester (Treasurer)
  5. Nadeem Hendricks (Co-ordinator)
  6. Yashmien Abrahams
  7. John Daniels
  8. Donald Hendricks
  9. Yusuf Davids
  10. Abubakar Noordien
  11. Zanap Noordien
  12. Sedick Christians
  13. Cyrill Mandindi
  14. Sedick Davids
  15. Rashieda Ridley
  16. Nazeer Khalfe
  17. Abduragmaan Parker
  18. Karel August
  19. Themba Madlala